Ages 4-8
Ages 4-8
Ages 4-8

Ages 4-8

Balzer & Bray/Harperteen

Regular price $17.99 $15.89

Visit Amazon

Author: Kuefler, Joseph

Brand: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen

Edition: Illustrated

Features:

  • BALZER BRAY

Binding: Hardcover

Format: Illustrated

Number Of Pages: 48

Release Date: 18-04-2017

Details: Product Description A stunning picture book about sharing, friendship, and kindness in a playground setting from Joseph Kuefler, the author/illustrator of Beyond the Pond. Perfect for fans of Jon Klassen and Oliver Jeffers. One morning, Jonah decided to become ruler of the playground.Everyone agreed to obey his rules to play in King Jonah’s kingdom . . . Everyone except for Lennox . . . because she wanted to rule the playground, too.A gloriously rendered, hilariously deadpan tale of playground politics. From School Library Journal PreS-Gr 3—Jonah declares himself king of the playground. King Jonah and the other kids on the playground play peacefully, except for Lennox, who wants to rule the playground, too. She claims the side of the playground with swings as her queendom. All the other kids like the swings, so they agree. However, King Jonah is unhappy with Queen Lennox, the usurper. They divide the playground in two and with pencil, crayon, and paper draw out plans to expand their influence. Jonah and Lennox separately conquer the teeter-totter and the merry-go-round, all the while shouting demands of their vassals. Soon, there is nothing left to conquer and no friends left in the playground. After everyone goes away, being rulers of the playground loses its appeal. Jonah and Lennox make a new plan together: apologize to their friends and promise never to rule the playground again. Soon, the playground fills up with friends. Visually appealing mixed-media and digital illustrations contain a racially inclusive cast of supporting characters. The two rulers of the playground wear historical royal garb, and the addition of birds and one expressive puppy brings extra whimsy to the images. In darker tones set against a white background, the artwork plays the main role, as the text is much smaller and spare enough for storytime. VERDICT This readable title is sure to speak to bossy and not so bossy kids alike. A great choice for the beginning of the school year.—Mindy Hiatt, Salt Lake County Library Services Review “Children struggling with tyrants (or the impulse to dictate) will find both laughter and comfort in Kuefler’s playground, full of recognizable experiences, faces, and feelings....winning satire for the jungle-gym set.” ( Kirkus Reviews (starred review)) “[A] playful lesson in camaraderie and social etiquette” ( Booklist) Praise for BEYOND THE POND: “A witty, auspicious debut…[with] echoes of Jon Klassen and Wes Anderson.” ( Publishers Weekly (starred review)) Praise for BEYOND THE POND: “[A] tale of transformation and wonder…reminiscent of Sendak’s Max and his Wild Things.” (School Library Journal) Praise for BEYOND THE POND: “This lovely picture book is a tribute to imagination and the wonder in everyday spaces…will resonate with young readers ( Booklist) From the Back Cover One morning, Jonah decided to become ruler of the playground. Everyone pinkie promised to obey King Jonah’s rules . . . Everyone except for Lennox, because she wanted to rule the playground, too. This hilariously deadpan tale of playground politics is gloriously rendered by author and illustrator Joseph Kuefler. About the Author Joseph Kuefler is the author-illustrator of The Digger and the Flower, Beyond the Pond, and Rulers of the Playground. He lives in Minnesota with his wife and children. You can visit him online at www.josephkuefler.com. Joseph Kuefler is the author-illustrator of The Digger and the Flower, Beyond the Pond, and Rulers of the Playground. He lives in Minnesota with his wife and children. You can visit him online at www.josephkuefler.com.

EAN: 9780062424327

Package Dimensions: 11.2 x 10.1 x 0.5 inches

Languages: English